Geysers, mud pools and hot springs, oh my!

As we are in the geothermal ‘hot bed’ of NZ we visited some of the sights yesterday – it was a rainy, dreary day until late in the afternoon so even with the steam rising from the boiling earth, the rain added to the grey.  Such a lovely surreal exploration of the area.  I felt like I was truly in pre-historic times even though we visited one of the sights that was only formed in 1886…

The Wai-O-Tapu Geyser, Lady Knox

Image

Image

Image

Then we saw some mud pools.  Boiling mud – very cool and the pictures don’t show what we experienced – wish I could load a video on this site…I’ll try t do that somewhere before we leave this great internet connection so you can watch the mud boil/bubble.

Image

Image

Then we went to Waimango and took a fabulous walking tour through some beautiful volcanic landscapes. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

When we left, the sun came out and the drive along the lake back to the hostel was just breathtaking…

And, apparently I can no longer post pictures…hmmm.  Well, today is the drive to Matamata and tomorrow is HOBBITON!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Geysers, mud pools and hot springs, oh my!

  1. Those photos of geothermal activity in NZ — being young and showy — took my breath away. They suddenly came to life for me. Bubbling, spewing, misting, gurgling, the chill and the warmth. Especially the mud puddles… Thanks much. For some reason I actually felt like I was there with you in these photos. ❤

Leave a Reply

